skip navigation

Alumni News

Congratulations to Kyle Engel (2011) and Zack Burdi (2013) for being named 2015 collegiate All-Americans.  Engel gained D3 1st Team All-American honors at the University of Chicago while Burdi earned All-American 3rd team honors playing for D1 University of Louisville.

Congratulations to Nick Burdi (2011), Wes Benjamin (2011), Mike Gerber (2010), Dan Savas (2010), Zach Hirsch (2009), Sam Bumpers (2010), Andrew Godbold (2010), and Alex Klonowski (2010).  A record eight former Longshots Baseball players were drafted in the 2014 MLB First Year Player Draft! 

Congratulations to Joe Claver (2010) for signing a free agent contract with the Toronto Blue Jays! 

Congratulations to Nick Burdi (2011) and Zack Burdi (2013) for helping the Louisville Cardinals to their 2nd straight appearance in the College World Series!

Dan Savas (2011), Illinois State Redbirds, goes to 7-0, winning his 17th Straight game!

Nick Burdi (2011), Louisville Cardinals, becomes school's all-time saves leader!

Sam Tidaback (2012) of Ball State, Andrew Godbold (2010) of Southeastern Louisiana, Sam Bumpers (2010) of Lamar, Mike Gerber (2010) of Creighton, and Justin Stawychny (2011) of Louisiana Monroe had a total of 9 home runs between them the weekend of March 28th!

Eric Jagielo (2010 Longshots Alum) is drafted in the first round of the 2013 MLB Draft by the Yankees!!!!

Jeff Zimmerman (2010 alum) is drafted in the 19th round of the 2013 MLB Draft by the Seattle Mariners!!!!

Jeff Johnson (2010) earns NCAA Division III All-American honors for Illinois Wesleyan!

Eric Jagielo (2010) is named a 3rd team NCAA Division I All-American by Collegiate Baseball!

Nick Burdi (Louisville) makes it to the 2013 College World Series!!

Nick Burdi (Louisville) and Matt Wivinis (Kansas State) both make the Super Regionals (Sweet 16) of the 2013 NCAA D-I Tournament! 

Nick Burdi (Louisville), Matt Wivinis (Kansas State), Nick Blackburn (Illinois), and Ryan Nagle (Illinois) all make the 2013 NCAA DI Tournament!

Three Longshots win 2012 College National Championships!!!!  Sam Bumpers (2010) won the 2012 NJCAA Division I National Championship with Iowa Western!  Bumpers finished 7th in the nation in hitting with a .455 average!  Tim Blaha (2010) and Colin Hart (2010) won the 2012 NJCAA Division III National Championship with Joliet Junior College!  Seven Longshots alumni have now been collegiate National Champions, as Mark Colleran (2000) won the 2002 NJCAA Division I Title with Parkland College, and Billy Dillon (2008), Anthony Lopez (2009), and Zach Scott (2009) won the 2010 NCAA Division III Title with Illinois Wesleyan!!!

Longshots alums to play in the 2012 NCAA D1 Tourney:  Tyler Deetjen (2008, Valparaiso), Dan Ludwig (2011, Belmont), Justin Stawychny & Alex Hermeling (2011, Louisiana-Monroe), Nick Moore (2011, Missouri), Nick Burdi (2011, Louisville), and Alex Staehley (2009) & Mike Gerber (2010, Creighton)

2010 alum Mike Gerber (Creighton) is named the 2012 Missouri Valley Tournament MVP!

2010 alums Mike Gerber (Creighton) and Jeff Zimmerman (Northern Illinois) were named 2011 Louisville Slugger Freshman All-Americans

2009 alum Alex Staehely and 2010 alum Mike Gerber helped lead Creighton to the 2011 Missouri Valley title and a #2 seed in the NCAA Tournament

2008 alums Jonathan Weaver and Reid Rooney and 2010 alum Matt Stevens helped lead Central Michigan to its second consecutive MAC West Division title!

2010 alum Jeff Zimmerman (Northern Illinois) is named the 2011 MAC freshman of the year!

2010 alum Mike Gerber (Creighton) is named to the Missouri Valley All-Conference Second Team!

2010 alum Dan Savas pitched 6 strong innings for Illinois State to knock off perennial power Miami for the first time in school history.

2010 alum Nick Burdi is named Under Armor HS All-American Game MVP at Wrigley Field

2008 alum Billy Dillon and 2009 alums Zach Scott and Anthony Lopez helped lead Illinois Wesleyan to the 2010 NCAA Division III National Championship!